Spinach and Kale Ravioli with Homemade Tomato & Garlic Sauce

I am often compliment on my ability to cook as if it’s some type of huge surprise.  Maybe I don’t look like the type who cooks, I dunno.  What I do know is that I’ve always been very good at following directions to create something, and when that something is a food dish, well, I guess compliments mean I followed directions successfully.

The other night I tried something sort of new.  I was at Sam’s Club and one of the free sample people gave me a cup of this ravioli that was pretty darn good, so I decided to buy it to make for dinner this week: Spinach and Kale Ravioli by Pasta Prima.

I cook pasta at least once every other week so it’s not a big deal, but for this I decided to try something different.  The package of the ravioli had directions for a sauce to be made with it, so I figure why not?  Especially since the sauce was really simple:

Toss the ravioli in a pot of hot or boiling water.  The package I had was so fresh the ravioli was almost falling apart after boiling for more than a few minutes

This doesn't need to cook long

This doesn’t need to cook long

1/4 to 1/2 cup of olive oil in a skillet
Add 2 onions and 4 cloves of garlic and onions – diced (my stomach can’t handle onions, so I skipped them)

20130324173025

The garlic looks lonely, but I’ll take lonely garlic over angry stomach any day

10 plum tomatoes – diced; add when the onions/garlic are browning

I accidentally bought Roma, so had plenty of tomato.  It will start stewing if you cook it too long, so just long enough to be nice and hot

I accidentally bought Roma, so had plenty of tomato. It will start stewing if you cook it too long, so just long enough to be nice and hot

Cook and stir until hot, then add basil and salt/pepper to taste
Add some grated Parmesan cheese and you’re ready for a healthy, quick, easy, and delicious meal:

If only my photography skills were as good as this dish

If only my photography skills were as good as this dish

Even the kids ate it, and when you can get a six-year-old and two-year-old to both like a food, it’s a success.  But of course I forgot to take pictures of that.  Next time.

Leave a Reply

