The Daily Ditty 4.3.13

As a young teenager I had what I now consider to be piss poor taste in music.  I listened to pop station B-96 out of Chicago and pretty much whatever my older brother listened to, which was usually gangster rap.  Not that there’s anything wrong with pop music or gangster rap… but who am I kidding?  Pop music is an abomination unto man and gangster rap is mostly made up of guys trying to prove how tough they are through poetry.  But I ate it all up.

I’ll never regret owning Dr. Dre’s The Chronic as it’s a classic but there are some real stinkers in there that I am embarrassed to say I proudly owned as a 13-year-old.  All-4-One, Bryan Adams, Boyz 2 Men, Kriss Kross, Vanilla Ice and MC Hammer (not their one hit wonders, but their follow ups).  I cringe to think of some of my voluntary musical selections back then, but hey, I was a kid.  I dare almost anyone to look back on their middle school music selections and not cringe.

What saved me was a new town away from the ghettos where I’d grown up, and new friends.  One in particular seemed to take it as his personal duty to educate me in the ways of classic rock.  It started with The Beatles.

I was resistant at first, because I felt pretty set in my ways.  But then I listened to the music and something amazing happened:  I liked it.  These guys weren’t just good, they were amazing, and I quickly devoured everything of theirs that I could.  I bought as many of their CDs as I could afford and for a while in my house it was all-Beatles all the time.

It was through the Beatles that I re-educated myself and my taste in music.  Without them, who knows, I might still be listening to I Swear for the hundred thousandth time and sighing over long lost girlfriends.

In honor of the Beatles saving and refining my musical tastes, today’s ditty is my favorite “song” of theirs which really isn’t a song.  Technically its 9 songs put together in one awesomely glorious medley, the Abbey Road medley.  You Never Give Me Your Money, Sun King, Mean Mister Mustard, Polythene Pam, She Came in Through the Bathroom Window, Golden Slumbers, Carry That Weight, The End, and Her Majesty.  All decent to great songs alone but together they are simply amazing.

For the ultimate listening experience, set the video to 720 resolution.  And Enjoy:

Leave a Reply

