The Daily Ditty 4.8.13

The year 2005 is one of my personal favorites.  I started the year by traveling to Ormskirk, a small market town about a thirty-minute train ride east of Liverpool, England.  Liverpool, where the Beatles were formed!  I spent four months living there, going to school and traveling often to Mathew Street to visit the Cavern Club and its neighbor the Cavern Pub.

cavernpub

About a month after getting home I found myself working at Books-a-Million for the summer, and it was from there that I discovered the band featured in today’s Ditty.  Thanks to a mutual love of alcohol and live music, a small group of us meshed together that summer and became more than co-workers who were acquaintances.

One of those co-workers was the drummer for a local cover band called Two Way Radio, and the bassist in the band was married to another co-worker.  Over the course of the summer they would play weekly or bi-weekly shows around town and the B-A-M crew would always show up in force.  It was a very fun summer, full of what I grew to call three-day “drinkends” where my fiance and I would go out drinking with our friends every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night.

We drank a lot of alcohol, spent a lot of money and had a ton of fun.  And we got the majority of our youthful exuberance out in one final blast, as that September we would discover my future wife was pregnant with our first child.

But oh, what a summer.  Because many of those nights were spent at a Two Way Radio show, the songs they played now remind me of that summer.  They played a superb, eclectic mix of covers – from David Bowie and The Talking Heads to Ryan Adams and Modest Mouse.  This week the Ditty will be a miniature Two Way Radio playlist and it starts with Uncle Tupelo.

There were three Uncle Tupelo songs that made appearances throughout the concert and I’ve included them all here.  “Gun” is a fun song that reminds me of Mentos for some reason while “I Wanna Be Your Dog” is surprisingly good to dance to… but then again when you’ve had too much to drink almost anything is surprisingly good to dance to.  “I Got Drunk” could certainly serve as our anthem that summer, but regardless it, too, was surprisingly fun on the dance floor as well.

Leave a Reply

