Trapped, a poem by Aaron J Perez

Today’s poem is a preview from the upcoming Zombies?  Zombies! anthology.  Personally, I never knew zombie poetry was a thing until I decided to accept them for the anthology and received a fair number of entries.  Some were good, some … not so much.  I enjoyed Mr. Perez’s entry and found it ghastly humorous which is all one can ask for in their zombie poetry.

Trapped

It smells in here,
And I’m starving to death,
What a perfect end,
Trapped without breath.

Day 365, 366, 367,
I hope when I die I go to heaven,
Instead I fear I shall become the undead,
Like my friend Wallace, who I shot in the head.
Trapped in a bomb-shelter,
Or as I like to call it tomb,
Only me and Sandy now,
with a baby trapped in her womb

Help isn’t on the way,
I will never see the light of day,
The dead light is all there is too see,
For my turning companion and me. 

I’m down to my last bullet,
And I’m saving that for me,
Got to think of something fast,
Got to kill Sandy before…now I see.

What a splendid idea,
Two birds with one stone,
As soon as she stops breathing,
I shall eat her, flesh and bone.

Day 368, I’m hungry, want more,
Ate every last part of Sandy’s gore,
What else is there to eat in here,
Oh yes, there’s always the baby dear.

Me still hungry,
Feel empty inside,
Want more meat,
Uuuugh.

Leave a Reply

